Skip to main content

Following a triumphant and powerful screening of their documentary Green Is The New Black across the globe for Earth Week 2022 and a recent nomination for an Environmental Music Prize, Australian heavy hitters In Hearts Wake have today announced the official Soundtrack / OST / Collection for their impactful film, with the soundtrack officially due out on August 5 via UNFD.

A collection of songs featured in the powerful documentary, which dives deep into the music industry’s relationship to the environment and the making of In Hearts Wake‘s 2020 and 100% carbon offset album ‘Kaliyuga’, ‘Green Is The New Black’ is equally as hard-hitting as its visual counterpart, featuring new songs written and produced specially for the film.

In conjunction with the announcement of the official Soundtrack / OST / Collection, In Hearts Wake have also today unveiled a new single from the impending release, with W2HA, short for Welcome to Hell-A, roaring into the world. Featuring vibrant riffs, gravelled vocals and towering soundscapes, W2HA is equally vibrant, polished and full of sonic menace, while perfectly capturing vocalist Jake Taylor‘s eye-opening experiences while living and writing in Los Angeles.

“W2HA (Welcome to Hell A) was written during my time living in Los Angeles,” says Taylor. “I’d never experienced such a disturbing divide between wealth and poverty. I would often ride my bike through Venice Beach. There were the most insane Hollywood mansions and then one block away there would be tent villages full of desperation, crime and suffering.  The separation was confusing, and the dog-eat-dog hustle mentality didn’t feel right. LA was a fragile man-made oasis built on a volatile desert. I experienced a 7.1 magnitude Earthquake and then weeks later Malibu went up in flames, raining ash all over the city. For me it was like living in some sort of concrete Hell.” 


With the brand new album ‘Green Is The New Black’ dropping in early August, fans can also catch the new tunes and plenty of fan-favourites live in action when In Hearts Wake hit the road from August until October for their Green Is The New Black Australian Tour. Along for the ride on the huge 27 date run will be dynamic Aussie rockers RedHook, alternative heroes Pridelands and electro metal luminaries Banks Arcade. Also strengthening their environmental message, In Hearts Wake will offset 150% of the carbon emissions on their upcoming tour.


IN HEARTS WAKE
‘GREEN IS THE NEW BLACK’ AUSTRALIAN TOUR - TICKETS HERE
W/ SPECIAL GUESTS: REDHOOK, PRIDELANDS, BANKS ARCADE

Thursday 18 Aug 2022 – Prince of Wales Hotel, Bunbury WA
Friday 19 Aug 2022 – Magnet House, Perth WA
Saturday 20 Aug 2022 – Freo.Social, Fremantle WA
Sun 21 Aug 2022 – Indian Ocean Hotel, Scarborough WA
Saturday 27 Aug 2022 – Landmark, Darwin NT
Wed 31 Aug 2022 – Harvey Road Tavern, Gladstone QLD
Thursday 1 Sep 2022 – Seabreeze Hotel, Mackay QLD
Friday 2 Sep 2022 – Otherwise, Townsville QLD
Saturday 3 Sep 2022 – Gilligans, Cairns QLD
Thursday 8 Sep 2022 – Coolangatta Hotel, Coolangatta QLD
Friday 9 Sep 2022 – Eleven Dive Bar, Maroochydore QLD
Saturday 10 Sep 2022 – Blanks Space, Toowoomba QLD
Thursday 22 Sep 2022 – Drifters Warf, Central Coast NSW
Friday 23 Sep 2022 – Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle NSW
Saturday 24 Sep 2022 – Manning Bar, Sydney NSW (Early + Late Shows)
Thursday 29 Sep 2022 – Uni Bar, Wollongong NSW
Friday 30 Sep 2022 – UC Hub, Canberra ACT
Saturday 1 Oct 2022 – Beer Deluxe, Albury NSW
Wednesday 5 Oct 2022 – Volta, Ballarat VIC
Thursday 6 Oct 2022 – Sooki Lounge, Belgrave VIC
Friday 7 Oct 2022 – The Wool Exchange, Geelong VIC
Saturday 8 Oct 2022 – Pier Bandroom, Frankston VIC
Friday 14 Oct 2022 – Altar, Hobart TAS
Saturday 15 Oct 2022 – Lion Arts Factory, Adelaide SA
Sun 16 Oct 2022 – Northern Sound System, Elizabeth SA (Lic / AA)
Friday 21 Oct 2022 – Vinnie’s Dive, Gold Coast QLD
Saturday 22 Oct 2022 – The Northern, Byron Bay NSW


LISTEN TO W2HA HERE
‘GREEN IS THE NEW BLACK’ – OUT AUGUST 5


Connect with IN HEARTS WAKE


With thanks to Unified Music Group

Leave a Reply