Skip to main content

ARIA Hall of Fame inductees The Church reveal the latest track No Other You ahead of their highly anticipated 26th studio album ‘The Hypnogogue’ out Friday 24 February 2023.
A monumental concept album, The Church hone in on their bespoke sound in without retreading creative steps, unveiling a cinematic record. Featuring already released singles The Hypnogogue and C’est La Vie, the album offers a pool of melancholy tones and psychedelic swells, transporting listeners to another realm, guided by its striking science fiction narrative.

The album was recorded at Australian iconic studios Damien Gerard Studios on the Central Coast and mixed by Darrell Thorp (Radiohead, Beck, Foo Fighters). Bassist, vocalist and founder Steve Kilbey gives his thoughts on the new record; “The Hypnogogue is the most prog rock thing we have ever done, we’ve never created a concept album before. It is the most teamwork record we have ever had. Everyone in the band is so justifiably proud of this record and everyone helped to make sure it was as good as it could be. Personally, I think it’s in our top three records.”

New single No Other You cements the band’s intriguing new era, with a blend of atmospheric rock and shimmery textures capturing the essence of what we can expect from ‘The Hypnogogue’.

Fans can get a preview of the new album with a special one-off show at Taronga Zoo as part of the Twilight at Taronga series on Friday 24 February, with VIP ticket options already sold out.
The Church yield an expansive music career with a phenomenal back catalogue of songs including Under The Milky Way, Reptile, The Unguarded Moment and Almost With You amongst others. Their equally stellar live shows have been deemed “spectacular” by MAGNET Magazine and continue to win the hearts of industry and fans across the world.

The renowned five-piece line-up is made up of bassist, vocalist and founder Steve Kilbey along with long- time collaborator, drummer and producer Tim Powles, who’s remained a staple across 17 albums since 1994. Joining them is guitarist Ian Haug, who has been strumming with the band since 2013 and formerly of Australian rock icons Powderfinger. Touring multi-instrumentalist talent Jeffrey Cain is now a full-time member since the departure of Peter Koppes in early 2020. Rounding out the members is the newly recruited Ashley Naylor is one of Australia’s finest guitarists and is a long-time member of Paul Kelly’s touring band. Entering their fourth decade as a band, The Church continue to remain a treasured creative force.

New single No Other You is available now wherever you consume good music
‘The Hypnogogue’ is out Friday 24 February 2023


Thanks to Morse Code PR

Leave a Reply

Optimized by Optimole